Comicdom Con 2009: Moments #1

Hello again everyone! I know I have been quiet over the past week but Science Theater and a convention will do that to you… In fact, I am working on some things lost in the backlogs but I have not done enough to warrant a post. As I said when I first posted the announcement for Comicdom Con, it is not strictly related to Japanese culture, but tied as it is the world of comic books, therefore also manga and anime, it is hardly irrelevant.

This convention was, I believe, by far the best of the four we’ve done to date (although I reserve a place for the first one – first things always seem more magical somehow), with a multitude of high moments (and some low). I believe the most memorable are those when you share instants of fun with people you are fond of, regardless of tiredness, problems showing along the way that tend to foul the mood and so on and so forth. The picture you see below is the product of one such moment, or rather a series thereof.

During my breaks from photo or presentation duties at the convention, I spent quite a bit of time with Asaph-chan (a.k.a. Eru or Eri) who, as anyone who has met her can attest (and if they don’t, they should!), is an incredibly fun person. I may say I am tired, but she had been busting her @$$ at her day job all week before the convention and she had to go to work Monday morning, starting the grueling days of extended working hours for the Easter vacation. Expectedly, her mood had been spiraling slowly donwards and yet she was still drawing things for anyone who cared to ask her (nicely). So at some point, while we are slowly rotting away on the steps at the Comicdom Press stand, the time had come for me to go take pictures of the convention’s penultimate event. Before I left, I asked her if she could draw me something, provided she had the time and energy.

Asaph: “Yeah man, no problem. What would you like?”

Speedgrapher:Remember that Japanese commercial sketch you had done, with me as the furry telemarketer? Well, try and do a sort of sequel to that.”

Asaph: “Yeah but, I mean, do you have anything specific in mind?

Speedgrapher: “Last time you made me laugh to death all on you own. Just fire away and don’t restrain yourself on my account!”

Asaph: “OK…”

When I got back to our stand, this is what she had come up with (I suggest you click on the link above first, so that you can get the full scope of the joke)…

gold-batto-ossan-smallPersonally, I find it hilarious and in case you are wondering, yes, Asaph-chan is one of those fun people I am fond of.

Arigatou,

Speedgrapher

7 Responses to “Comicdom Con 2009: Moments #1”

  1. Awwwwww…!
    Most of this post is about me..!
    *blush* :S

  2. speedxgrapher Says:

    Yup. Told ya I would put it up. ^___^

  3. Har Har Har Ero-Grapher!

  4. FlexXxible Says:

    1. Xronia Polla Otaku Lens!
    2. ROFLMAO!!!!

  5. speedxgrapher Says:

    1. Thanks Flexxxy, xronia polla kai se sena! [Ego mia fora to kreas den to nistepsa].

    2. Keep Rolling.

  6. “Gold batto-ossan!” aka 金色のウインウイン! 😛 Ax0ax0a0x0ax0a0xa0x0ax0axa 😛

  7. AAARRRRRGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I-NEED-MO-RE-PHO-TOOOOOOOOOSSS!!!!! *withdrawal*

Leave a Reply

